Andy Kostka Wins McNamara Sports Writing Award


Andy Kostka Wins McNamara Sports Writing Award
May 9, 2019

Philip Merrill College junior Andy Kostka has been named the winner of the inaugural John McNamara Sports Writing Award, the college announced May 8.

In addition to Kostka, Keombré McLaughlin won the Gerald Fischman Award for News Commentary and Criticism and David Lightman (‘71) won the Rob Hiaasen Adjunct Faculty Award.

Fischman (‘79) and McNamara (‘83) were Merrill College and Diamondback alumni and Hiaasen was a member of the college’s adjunct faculty. They were among the five people killed in a shooting at their newspaper’s Annapolis office last summer.

Wendi Winters and Rebecca Smith also lost their lives in the attack.

Merrill College established the awards this past fall to recognize members of the college community who embodied the talents and interests that Fischman, McNamara and Hiaasen were known for.

Winners will be recognized at the college’s commencement ceremony on May 23.

“We are very proud of our winners and honored to make these awards in memory of three wonderful journalists and Terps,” Merrill College Dean Lucy A. Dalglish said.

Kostka, a junior journalism major, won for a portfolio of stories about the Terps football program published by The Diamondback, an independent student-run news organization at this university.

The stories include a news feature about football donors who stood by coach DJ Durkin following the death of offensive lineman Jordan McNair, a game story recapping the team’s failed upset bid against ninth-ranked Ohio State and a profile of linebacker Tre Watson, an Illinois transfer student who became an integral part of the Maryland defense.

“It is humbling to receive an award named in John McNamara’s honor,” Kostka said. “I hope to follow his example of excellence and service as I pursue my career.”

For more on the other winners, visit the Merrill College website.

Comments are closed.